Tags

, , , , ,

Last night I made a Potato Cauliflower soup that pretty much knocked my socks off. I did not expect it to be so silky smooth from the cauliflower once it was puréed.  It had the same texture as cream based soups.  Warm, creamy, satisfying.  I roasted some red potatoes with garlic and Italian seasoning to have as a side dish/croutons in the soup.  I’m so glad that fall is finally starting to show itself here and there.  It is absolutely my favorite time of year.  Crisp, cool air…sweaters…crunchy leaves…and comfort foods like soup. I love that soup is an easy way to make meals while on the BED and that my timing corresponds to the beginning of cooler weather.  Pictures of the soup will have to wait, but I didn’t think the recipe should!

Potato Cauliflower Soup (slightly adapted from Cafe Sunflower)

1 head cauliflower, chopped into florets
1 medium onion, chopped
2 med. red potatoes, cubed
2 carrots, chopped
1 stalk of celery, chopped
2-3 cloves of garlic, chopped
2 Tbsp. butter
Olive oil
1 tsp. dried thyme
1/2 tsp. dried dill
2 bay leaves
Salt/pepper to taste
Water

Heat oil and butter in stock pot, add onion, garlic, carrot, celery, thyme, and dill. Saute until translucent. Add 1 tsp. salt and some pepper now (you will need to add more later, but this allows the veggies to simmer in somewhat salted water).
Add cauliflower and potatoes, saute another few minutes.
Add enough water to cover along with bay leaves. Bring to boil and let simmer 20 min. Puree in blender (or if you have an immersion blender) and add salt/pepper to taste.

I served this with oven roasted garlic/rosemary red potato cubes. They were like croutons if I put some in the soup.

